Talk:Elush's Epiphyseal Erosion (3.5e Spell)

From Dungeons and Dragons Wiki
Revision as of 06:39, 4 November 2015 by Dragonexx (talk | contribs) (Added rating.)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search


RatedNeutral.png Dragonexx is neutral on this article and rated it 2 of 4.
Not a bad spell, though kind of on the fence about the four rounds of nauseated. Might be a bit too early a level for such a spell.
RatedNeutral.png Foxwarrior is neutral on this article and rated it 2 of 4.
It's a perfectly decent SoD. The part where it brings the Blasphemy nonsense two levels lower is terrible, but a 1 round guaranteed stun against equivalent opposition that costs you a standard action is only mildly overpowered, probably.

Oh, but you could Quicken it if you were level 17, and definitely costing a dangerous enemy one round as a Swift action is not fair at all.

RatedNeutral.png Havvy is neutral on this article and rated it 2 of 4.
It's a SoD at fifth level that cannot be saved by those of weaker CR than you. Meh.

RatedNeutral.png Aarnott is neutral on this article and rated it 2 of 4.
Even as a 5th level spell, a stun without save is just over the top. Caster level is easy enough to raise above character level, so the spell may as well just not have the clause for higher CR creatures. Unless your DM loves throwing around creatures that should pulverize you but you pack spells that have some broken parts to them.

I'd feel more comfortable if it were -2*CL difference on the save or something like that.

Otherwise, the spell is pretty cool.


With CL boosting and other weirdness, you might just want to skip the calculation part and say that creatures CR 7 or less are stunned, and everyone else is dazed. And that creatures immune to those conditions get an early start on the nausea instead maybe.

Otherwise it doesn't seem too unreasonable, though they should get 1 save against the whole thing at the beginning. No save stun is the domain of a level 8 power word, and this encroaches on it a bit more than I think good. - Tarkisflux Talk 21:49, 8 September 2012 (UTC)

Fair enough on all fronts. I think I'll just make some changes... - MisterSinister 22:55, 8 September 2012 (UTC)
The current wording leaves an interpretation where creatures under 7HD, by virtue of not getting a save to roll, are never subjected to the secondary effects. - Tarkisflux Talk 07:18, 9 September 2012 (UTC)
Fixed. - MisterSinister 08:34, 9 September 2012 (UTC)
I think you missed a spot: Isn't it now supposed to say that creatures CR 8 or higher get a save? --Foxwarrior 17:08, 9 September 2012 (UTC)
NeutralDragonexx +, Foxwarrior +, Havvy + and Aarnott +