Changes

Jump to: navigation, search

Talk:Bar-lgura Arm (3.5e Equipment)

2,192 bytes added, 05:38, 15 August 2011
no edit summary
If it's using what seems like graft rules (as fragmented as they are) they'd be slotless items which replace your arms, and only take up your "arms" in the sense that you can't replace it with another arms graft and keep the effect. If this isn't the case, it needs to be said. But again this is too cheap... just off hand, Strongarm Bracers, wonderful item, 6000g. This is half the cost, double the benefit, plus some. What? -- [[User:Eiji-kun|Eiji-kun]] 17:32, 24 March 2011 (UTC)
 
:Firstly, you've obviously not ''read'' the graft rules. They are located on a single, easy-to-find page in Liber Demonica itself. Please make objections to what is actually written [[Liber Demonica (3.5e Sourcebook)/LD3#Demonic Grafts|here]], rather than what you just imagined. I draw your attention, in particular, to this section here:
 
:''"'''Gaining grafts:''' A graft 'uses up' a magic item slot, as if it were a magic item itself. In order to receive a graft, a creature must be either willing or immobilized.''
 
:Thus, your first objection/statement is just straight-up not valid on any level.
 
:Additionally, this is an item balanced for a 8th level character. All of the above is completely in-line with what a 8th level character, given the wizard level of balance, can do. The price given for it is a reasonable fraction of the total wealth by level for a 8th level character (15%, to be exact), and if we examine it in terms of wealth ''growth'' between 7th level and 8th level, it's about 50% of ''that''. Combined with the fact that items in general are priced in a retarded fashion, and that this item benefits non-magic guys more than magic ones, your objections seem strange in the extreme.
 
:As for the Strongarm Bracers comparison - are you high? No, actually, seriously - ''are you high''? That item is not even ''remotely'' worth its 6k pricetag in any reality where we're actually comparing items by function on any level whatsoever. Let's look at what it actually, ''numerically'' does for you: it's ''about'' 1 extra damage on average with dice growth you could actually expect as a Medium creature, with ''about'' 2 extra damage on a critical hit. You know how ''else'' you could do that? Either [[SRD:Gauntlets of Ogre Power|''gauntlets of ogre power'']] or a freaking [[SRD:Magic Weapons|''+1 sword'']]. Note that both of these are ''substantially'' less than 6k in price, for an effect which is identical. It's typical of WotC - charging us more for cool things than raw numbers - but this doesn't make my analysis less valid, or for that matter, make yours valid in any universe whatsoever.- [[User:MisterSinister|MisterSinister]] 05:38, 15 August 2011 (UTC)
emailconfirmed
3,276
edits

Navigation menu